Brandon is one of the most historic towns in the Burdekin region and is home to one of the four local sugar mills, a primary school, bowls club, pub, post office, a few local shops and a ton of sugarcane farms.
Brandon is also home to the Brandon Heritage Precinct which includes the restored St Patrick's Catholic Church, the former Brandon Railway Station, Iron Works Brewery and Burdekin Machinery Preservationists. The extensive display of the sugar industry is housed in the former Renown Theatre building.
The town was named after Henry Brandon, who was determined to install a sugar mill in the area named Pioneer after relocating from Mackay. From there, a web of sugar plantations emerged in the area, with one enterprising selector close to the mill subdividing his land for the township in 1882, which he called Brandon.
Brandon
Brandon,
Burdekin Area
Queensland
4808
Content Provided By Burdekin Shire Council