J E Brown commenced business as a provisions and victuals merchant in 1857 in Richmond Street. In 1879 J E Brown had this two-storey brick warehouse built and was designed by a local architect James Buchanan. In later years, the premises were used for dances, balls, boxing tournaments, and a restaurant, and currently houses the Maryborough Military and Colonial Museum.
This museum provides a testament to not only those heroes who fought in distant lands but also those courageous and determined people who pioneered and progressed the Maryborough area for nearly two centuries.
Carpark
Car parking available
Facilities
Carpark
Accessibility
Disabled access available, contact operator for details.
J E Brown Warehouse
106 Wharf Street,
Maryborough,
Fraser Coast Area
Queensland
4650
Content Provided By Fraser Coast Tourism and Events